kroma crackle

adventures between the cracks

Crackle meets sewing machine

I’ve used crackle on canvas before with good results, and I wanted to see how it would work stitched together using a sewing machine . I didn’t plan out what the canvas would become, but this project seemed to turn itself into a purse.

 IMG_3029

 I started by painting the canvas with blocks of red and orangy yellow, then adding crackle tinted with yellows, greens and oranges in dots and swirls using a palette knife.

IMG_3039

The cracks begin to form as the crackle dries.

IMG_3042

When all the cracks have formed I sealed the surface  with clear acrylic medium.IMG_3123 IMG_3126 IMG_3135IMG_3121

I backed the canvas with a cotton handkerchief, tucking in the raw edges, folded the rectangle roughly into thirds and sewed up the sides. I used a regular sewing machine with a regular needle, and didn’t have any trouble stitching through the crackle.

IMG_3128

IMG_3133

The back and the front of the purse.  Now what shall I put inside?

One comment on “Crackle meets sewing machine

  1. Barb
    April 11, 2013

    Looks great Helen. I’m surprised the needle had no problems gliding thru the crackle and the acrylic medium. I’m planning on trying some effects on my little collage pieces.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 9, 2013 by in Uncategorized.

blog content by Helen Lambourne for Kroma Industries
copyright 2013

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

